4-H Ontario | Competitions and Contests | Go For The Gold Competition
4-H Ontario

Competitions and Contests

Go For The Gold Competition

As announced early June, the GFTG local competition has moved to a virtual format for 2020. 4-H Ontario continues to monitor the impacts of COVID-19 to determine how the regional and provincial competitions will be delivered; more details about this will be shared here as they become available. If you have questions about GFTG please reach out to Kathryn at events@4- hontario.ca.

Local Association and Regional Competitions

The Go For The Gold (GFTG) competition is a great experience for 4-H members to increase their knowledge of 4-H project materials, agriculture, food, community events and much more, all while doing so in a team atmosphere! There are 4-H Association level and 4-H Regional level competitions hosted by local 4-H volunteers.

More information is provided to 4-H volunteers and members who want to prepare for, compete in and run a GFTG competition. This information can be accessed through the login side of the website

2020 Go For The Gold Local Competition Information

2020 Go For The Gold Local Association Registration 


Provincial Competition

Following the association and regional level competitions, the fun continues as the six regional champion Go For The Gold teams compete head-to-head at this day-long event for the title of Provincial Go For The Gold Champions. One team of up to five members and their coach can attend from each region. 

To view the 2020 GFTG Handbook click here


Registration Deadline: September 7, 2020

4-H Ontario Members only

Event Date: November 2020 (Royal Agricultural Winter Fair)

$70 cost per team

Please read the Camp, Conference, Competition & Exchange Attendance Policies


2017 Go For The Gold Provincial Champions! Perth County. 

Pictured Above: Jessie Nyland (coach), Caitlin McKercher, Emily Royce, Evan Van Beek, Chris Stevers, Brent Royce (coach)


The Final Standings were:


1st – Perth County

2nd – Haldimand

3rd – Middlesex

4th – Kawartha Lakes-Haliburton

5th – Sudbury

6th – Grenville



Thanks to Our Sponsors

Ontario Mutuals Logo

Past Winning Teams Click to expand


2014 - Kawartha Lakes-Haliburton

Diane Armstrong - Coach
Craig Kennedy - Coach
Cassandra Gorrill
Maggie-Jo Hickson
Sadie-Jane Hickson
Trevor Kennedy

2013 - Huron

Mary Ellen Foran - Coach
Marita Oudshoorn - Asst. Coach
Jeanette Schramm
Melissa Higgins
Jolande Oudshoorn (Alternate)
Reba Jefferson
Kate Higgins 

2012 – Durham East

Brad Found - Coach
Andrew Louws
Kate Louws
Katie McRae
Carol Morton
Doug Skinner

2011 – Halton

Deanna Glasgow
Scott Gooding
Marie Martin - Coach
Rebecca Murray
Christine Wilkinson

2010 – Lanark

Michelle Guerard
Ashley Knapton
James Knapton
Leanna Lowry - Coach
Alan Nanne

2009 – Huron

Maggie Aislie
Katie Brady
Heather Stark - Coach
Ursina Studhalter
Raina Venerhoeds

2008 – Wellington

Heather Aitken
Joel Aitken
Marg Aitken - Coach
James Bailey
Miriam Bailey
Virginia Pantling

2007 – Kawartha Lakes Haliburton

Michael Bruce
Leona Clarke - Coach
Matt English
Allan Francis
Greg Snodden
Amanda Staples

2006 – Durham East

Brad Found, Coach
David Found
Steven Larmer
Meagan McRae
Reuben McRae
David Morton

2005 – Grenville

Maria Ferguson - Coach
Thomas Ferguson
Michael Maitland
Ronnie Maitland
Crystal Throop
Asif Van Dyke

2004 – Leeds

Kent Fraser
Murray Hagget - Coach
Melanie MacMillan
Cole Verburg
Ian Verburg

2003 – Halton

Adam Dolson
Eleanor Lutes - Coach
Jessica Lutes
Naomi Lutes
Scott Martin
Cristy Nurse

2002 – Durham East

Katharine Found
Stephen Found
Robert Larmer
Emily Metcalf
Mike Metcalf - Coach

2001 – South Simcoe

Jean Keffer - Coach
Philip Keffer
Mark McKnight
Carolyn West
Stephen West

2000 – Peterborough

Steve Andrews - Coach
Chris McGriskin
Ed McGriskin
Ellen Nelson
Dana Oliver

For more information please contact:
4-H Ontario's Coordinator, Programming & Resources
1-877-410-6748 or 519-824-0101 x 482

Back to Competitions and Contests Listing